The Ring

Baird publishes updated guide to CP stations in BC

Wed, 2012-07-11 09:07

Ian Baird (microforms) has published a significantly revised and updated edition of his richly illustrated Historical Guide to Canadian Pacific Railway Stations in British Columbia. In his foreword, Martin Segger (retired director of UVic’s Maltwood Art Museum and Gallery), remarks that “Baird leads us on a fascinating exploration of the architectural and social significance of these monuments [many of which] continue to serve their communities, albeit in a new life, as restaurants, museums, art galleries, tourist centres, even private homes.” It is available at local bookstores, including the UVic Bookstore.

Gann receives VIATeC award

Wed, 2012-07-11 09:05

Dale Gann received the Vancouver Island Advanced Technology Council (VIATeC) Colin Lennox Award for Technology Champion in May. The award recognizes a person who has demonstrated passion and commitment to the Greater Victoria technology sector for at least ten years. Gann is president of UVic’s Vancouver Island Technology Park (VITP) and the Marine Technology Centre. Recognized as a pioneer of the Victoria technology community, he was instrumental towards establishing a critical mass of technology-based companies in Greater Victoria. VITP accommodates 35 technology companies employing 1,100 people.

Hoffman receives Order of Canada

Wed, 2012-07-11 09:04

Paul Hoffman (Earth & ocean sciences, adjunct) was named an officer of the Order of Canada on June 29 for advancing the field of geology, notably through his landmark research on the Precambrian period of Earth’s history.

Moran appointed president, CEO of ONC

Wed, 2012-07-11 09:03

On July 1, internationally renowned ocean engineer Kate Moran began a five-year term as president and CEO of Ocean Networks Canada (ONC), the UVic organization that manages the world-leading VENUS and NEPTUNE Canada subsea networks. She succeeded founding president and CEO Dr. Martin Taylor, who retired on June 30. Moran joined UVic in 2011 as director of NEPTUNE Canada. Prior to that she was assistant director in the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy in Washington, DC.

Horowitz awarded RRU honorary degree

Wed, 2012-07-11 09:01

Myer Horowitz (educational psychology & leadership studies, adjunct) received an honorary degree from Royal Roads University on June 14. Throughout his long and distinguished career in education, he has provided guidance and insights to programs from kindergarten to post-secondary. He served as president of the University of Alberta from 1979 to 1989. At Royal Roads, he is chair of the university’s Research Ethics Board, an adjunct professor of education and a member of the advisory board in the School of Communication and Culture. He is the acting director of UVic’s Centre for Early Childhood Research and Policy and a research fellow with the Centre for Youth and Society.

Weaver appointed Lansdowne Professor

Wed, 2012-07-11 09:00

Dr. Andrew Weaver (Earth & ocean sciences) has been appointed Lansdowne Professor in the Faculty of Science for a five-year term. Weaver is a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair and one of the world’s leading researchers in climate and ocean dynamics and arguably the top mathematical paleoclimatologist in the world. He is regarded as Canada’s leading expert in climate change and has achieved great distinction for his scholarly contributions. He was a lead author in the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) 2nd, 3rd and 4th scientific assessments, and is also a lead author in the upcoming 5th scientific assessment.

Undergraduate Writing student Cody Klippenstein wins award

Mon, 2012-06-18 13:15

Fourth-year undergraduate Department of Writing student Cody Klippenstein recently won the 2012 Fiction Prize for The Fiddlehead, the University of New Brunswick’s literary journal. Her winning story, titled "We've Gotta Get Out of Here," was originally submitted as an assignment for a workshop class led by Writing associate professor Lee Henderson. Henderson, who describes the story about an Asian punk rock girl living in Vancouver in the early 1980s as "basically pitch-perfect," also has high hopes for the rest of the students in that particular workshop. “This was an exceptional class of writers, so I view this win as just the tip of the iceberg," he says.

Bill Gaston wins National Magazine Award

Mon, 2012-06-18 13:13

Department of Writing chair Bill Gaston won the Gold award in the fiction category at the recent National Magazine Awards. His winning story, "Four Corners", appeared in the Winter issue of Event magazine, Douglas College's thrice-yearly literary review. Gaston's previously wins at the National Magazine Awards include honorary mention for his stories "The Night Window" (published in the Malahat Review) in 2005, and "Mount Appetite" (Malahat Review) in 2001.

UVic Professor Cornelis “Kees” van Kooten

Wed, 2012-06-13 13:01

UVic Professor  Cornelis “Kees” van Kooten (Economics) has been made a Fellow of the Canadian Agricultural Economics Society (CAES). Prof. van Kooten is highly respected for his outstanding contributions to research in the area of agricultural and resource economics. He has over 25 years’ experience in natural resource economics and has been a consultant to various governments, the United Nations, and the World Bank, among many non-governmental organizations. The Canadian Agricultural Economics Society is a professional society that encompasses all faculty and graduate students in departments of agricultural, food and natural resource economics in Canada. A committee of the society makes recommendations for the award of a Fellow based on outstanding research in agriculture research.

EcoCAR2 team wins in LA

Thu, 2012-06-07 11:51