The Ring

Vikes athletes honoured

Fri, 2011-03-25 11:28

Photo of Espeseth and Turpin
Vikes President's Cup winner, Perri Espeseth (right) with Dr. David Turpin (left). Photo: Armando Tura.

The UVic Vikes presented their major awards and honoured three new inductees into the UVic Sports Hall of Fame March 24 at the Victoria Conference Centre.

 Women’s field hockey player Perri Espeseth won the President’s Cup, awarded to a student-athlete in their fourth or fifth year who best combines scholastic achievement and athletic ability. The leading goal scorer in the Canada West and with the Vikes, Espeseth was a 2010 CIS first-team All-Canadian and Canada West first-team all-star and was named to the CIS national championship tournament all-star team.

Male and female athletes of the year were: men’s rugby player Phil Mack, currently in Hong Kong representing Canada’s national men’s rugby sevens team, and a key contributor to the Vikes Rounsefell Cup win in May and to advancing to the Barnard Cup championship game in November; and golfer Anne Balser, who won the Canadian University RCGA championship last spring, was a first-team NAIA all-American, won the Wayland Baptist shootout tournament and represented Canada at the World University Games in Spain.

Greg Streppel (swimming), Eric Hinrichsen (basketball) and the 1970/71 men’s rugby team were inducted into the UVic Sports Hall of Fame. 

Darren Mazzei (cross country and track) received the Chancellor’s Award, presented to a student-athlete who is an outstanding contributor to his or her team both in and out of the competition venue.

The Robert T. Wallace Shield recognizing the outstanding female and male student-athlete in his or her first year of competition in intercollegiate sports went to Jaclyn Sawicki (women’s soccer) and Dustin Dobravsky (men’s rugby).

Jane Anholt (women’s basketball) received the Provost Award, presented to a returning student-athlete with the highest academic average in the previous year.

Mike Holmes (rugby) received the Times Colonist Publisher’s Award for Community Contributors for individuals within the community who have made an outstanding volunteer contribution to a varsity program. 

More detail (Vikes media release)